Quibank app: now on the App Store — free, works offline. Get the app ↗

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Wyoming

Checked against Wyoming Real Estate Commission ·

Exam
Required
Training
Required
Term
First license expires December 31 of the year issued; after that, 3-year renewals
State fee
Original salesperson license: $300 (non-refundable, not prorated). Recovery fund: $20. Admin fee for the group E&O program: $15. Paper processing fee: $25. Each transfer, active status request or name change: $30. Expedited issuance (2 business days): $150 extra.
Licensed by
Wyoming Real Estate Commission
Take the free real estate practice test →

Who can apply

  • Be at least the age of majority before taking the exam.
  • Complete the Commission-approved pre-license courses within one year before you apply.
  • Submit fingerprint cards for a criminal background check.
  • Show proof of legal presence in the United States (birth certificate and driver's license, or a passport).
  • Carry errors and omissions insurance.

Step by step

  1. Submit two fingerprint cards with a $39 certified check or money order payable to the Attorney General.
  2. Complete and pass the Salesperson I, Salesperson II, and Wyoming Law courses with a Commission-approved provider.
  3. Pass the Pearson VUE national and Wyoming state salesperson exams.
  4. Get errors and omissions insurance through the Commission's group plan or an equivalent policy.
  5. Within 90 days of your last passed exam, submit the application with score reports, course certificates, a recent photo, proof of legal presence, proof of E&O, and the $300 license fee.

Official application →

Training and exam

Training: Salesperson Course I (state and national portions), Salesperson Course II, and the Wyoming Law course from Commission-approved providers, completed within one year before you apply. You may challenge Salesperson Course I by passing the approved course exam instead of sitting the hours. Course hour counts are not stated on the Commission's current pages or Chapter 1 rules.

Exam: Pearson VUE (Wyoming candidate handbook, July 2024, rev. 04/2025). National portion: 80 scored items plus 5 pretest items, 2.5 hours. Wyoming state portion: 40 scored items plus 5 to 10 pretest items, 1.5 hours. Passing is a scaled 75 on each. Fee: $80 per portion at a test center, $90 per portion online (OnVUE). If you fail one portion, retake only that portion within 6 months or retake both. Wait 24 hours before rebooking. Apply within 90 days after passing all portions, or your scores are cancelled.

What it costs in Wyoming

Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.

  • $39
  • $
  • $80–$90
  • $80–$90
  • $
  • $15
  • $300
  • $20
  • $150
Estimated total in Wyoming$519–$539Plus 2 items with no state-set price. Add your quotes above to complete the total.
Cost details from the state
  • Fingerprint processing: $39 payable to the Attorney General
  • Exam fee: $80 per portion at a test center or $90 per portion online (Pearson VUE)
  • Errors and omissions insurance: required; premium not stated by the Commission
  • Pre-license course tuition: set by each provider (not stated by the Commission)

Pay in Wyoming

Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in Wyoming after taxes.

What other sites get wrong about Wyoming

Myth: Wyoming's real estate exam is given by PSI.

Fact: The Commission sends candidates to Pearson VUE for the national and Wyoming state salesperson exams, under Pearson VUE's Wyoming candidate handbook. source

Myth: The Wyoming salesperson exam costs $141.

Fact: Pearson VUE charges $80 per portion at a test center ($90 per portion online), so both portions cost $160 at a test center. source

After you're licensed

Renewal: Initial licenses expire December 31 of the year issued and must be renewed by that date; no CE is needed for that first renewal, which starts a 3-year cycle. Three-year renewal fee: $350 plus the $20 recovery fund fee (the Commission's CE page lists an inactive renewal as $370); late renewal fee: $75. Unrenewed licenses go inactive on January 1, may be renewed until March 1, and are cancelled after March 1. Active salespersons need 45 hours of CE each 3-year cycle: 24 required hours and 21 elective hours.

Good to know in Wyoming

E&O insurance: Every active licensee needs errors and omissions insurance through the Commission's group plan or an equivalent policy. The group policy must give at least $100,000 per-claim coverage, a $500,000 annual aggregate, and a deductible of no more than $1,000.

Out-of-state licensees: If you hold an active license in another jurisdiction, you take the Wyoming Law course, Salesperson II, and the Wyoming state exam only. Your national exam result may be accepted.

Sources

Other states

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsin

General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Wyoming Real Estate Commission before you apply.