How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Indiana
Checked against Indiana Real Estate Commission (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) ·
- Exam
- Required
- Training
- Required
- Term
- 3 years
- State fee
- Broker license application fee: $60, plus an online processing fee. All fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable.
- Licensed by
- Indiana Real Estate Commission (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency)
Who can apply
- Be at least 18 years old before applying.
- Have a high school diploma or a GED.
- Not have a conviction for an act that is grounds for discipline, or for a crime that bears directly on your ability to practice competently or shows a tendency to endanger the public.
- Complete the Commission-approved broker course of study.
- Provide a Social Security number; without it the application is denied.
Step by step
- Complete the 90-hour broker pre-licensing course at a Commission-approved school, with at least 80% attendance and a passing total on the three in-class course exams.
- Schedule the Indiana broker exam with Pearson VUE and pay the $55 fee.
- Pass both sections (national and Indiana state) within 1 year of finishing the course.
- Within 1 year of passing, apply online through MyLicense One and pay the $60 broker application fee.
- Upload your course completion document and your original exam score report with the application.
- Choose Active or Referral status and associate with a sponsoring broker company or managing broker.
Training and exam
Training: A Commission-approved broker course of at least 90 hours of classroom instruction (876 IAC 6-4-1). Students must attend at least 80% of the required hours and pass three 100-question in-class exams, with a total of at least 225 points. If you do not pass the state exam within 1 year of finishing the course, you must take the course again. Brokers applying by endorsement from another state do not need the 90-hour course.
Exam: Given by Pearson VUE (Indiana scheduling started with March 3, 2025 dates). Broker exam: 145 total questions in 240 minutes; the national/general portion has 80 scored items and the Indiana state portion has 50 scored items, plus unscored pretest items. Passing score: 75 (scaled) on each section. Fee: $55 per attempt. If you pass one section, you only retake the other, but both must be passed within 1 year of completing the pre-licensing course. Exam results are good for 1 year from the passing date. Brokers by endorsement take only the 60-question state portion (90 minutes, $55) after Commission approval.
What it costs in Indiana
Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.
- $
- $55
- $60
Cost details from the state
- Pearson VUE exam fee: $55 per attempt.
- 90-hour pre-licensing course tuition: set by each school; not stated by the Commission.
- 30-hour post-licensing course tuition: set by each provider; not stated by the Commission.
Pay in Indiana
Indiana adds a local income tax on top of the state rate, so look up the local rate for your area before you budget.
What other sites get wrong about Indiana
Myth: PSI gives the Indiana broker exam, and it costs $53.
Fact: Indiana moved its real estate exam to Pearson VUE starting with March 3, 2025 test dates; the fee is $55 per attempt. source
After you're licensed
Renewal: Broker licenses renew every 3 years; the renewal fee is $60. Renewal notices are sent about 90 days before expiration. Brokers licensed after June 30, 2014 must complete 30 hours of Commission-approved post-licensing education within 2 years after the license is issued; it counts as CE for the first 2 CE years after the initial license year. After that, Active (and unassigned) brokers need 12 hours of CE each CE year (July 1 to June 30). CE certificates are not submitted at renewal but may be audited. Inactive and Referral brokers do not need CE to renew.
Good to know in Indiana
Broker company: Your application must name the broker company you will associate with. To hold an Active or Referral license, you need a sponsoring broker company or managing broker.
Reciprocity: The Commission has no reciprocity agreements. Licensed brokers from other states can apply by endorsement and pass only the Indiana state portion of the exam; the agency says this is not a fast process.
Application deadline: Applications not completed within 1 year are abandoned, and the license fee must be filed within 1 year of passing the exam or the application is void.
Background disclosures: If you answer yes to any criminal history or discipline question, you must send a written statement with the violation, place, date and outcome, plus court documents.
Sources
- Indiana PLA — Real Estate Commission home
- Indiana PLA — Real Estate Licensing Information
- Indiana Code § 25-34.1-3-4.1 — Requirements for broker's license
- 876 IAC 6 — Real Estate Schools; Prelicensing Education; Examination
- 876 IAC 7 — Postlicensing and Continuing Education
- Pearson VUE — Indiana Real Estate Candidate Handbook
Other states
AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Indiana Real Estate Commission (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) before you apply.