Quibank app: now on the App Store — free, works offline. Get the app ↗

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Arkansas

Checked against Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC) ·

Exam
Required
Training
Required
Term
1 years
State fee
$50 application fee (residents; non-residents who must test pay $85), then a $50 license fee and a $25 Real Estate Recovery Fund fee when the license is issued. The initial application fee can be waived for applicants who qualify under the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021.
Licensed by
Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC)
Take the free real estate practice test →

Who can apply

  • Be at least 18 years old (the age of majority in Arkansas).
  • Complete a state and federal (FBI) criminal background check through the Arkansas State Police. AREC reviews past legal problems case by case.
  • Arkansas residents must not get fingerprinted until AREC emails authorization to do so.

Step by step

  1. Complete 60 classroom hours of real estate education, including 30 hours of basic principles, from an accredited school or an AREC-licensed provider. You may apply before you finish the course.
  2. Mail AREC the exam application, proof of age, the $50 application fee (cashier's check or money order), the Background Check Acknowledgment form, and your course certificate.
  3. Get fingerprinted for the state and FBI check once AREC emails you authorization.
  4. When AREC approves you to test, register with Pearson VUE and pass both the general and Arkansas law portions.
  5. Within 90 days of passing, send AREC all pages of the score report, the $50 license fee, the $25 Recovery Fund fee, and the signed post-license requirement notice. AREC issues the license after the background report is approved.
  6. Complete the 18-hour post-license course by the end of the sixth month after you are first licensed.

Training and exam

Training: 60 classroom hours of prelicense education, 30 of them in basic principles of real estate, from an accredited post-secondary school, an AREC-licensed school, or a school approved by an equivalent licensing jurisdiction. "Exam prep" courses generally do not count. The salesperson certificate does not expire. New salespersons must also complete 18 classroom hours of AREC post-license education (its own set of modules) by the end of the month six months after initial licensure.

Exam: Pearson VUE. The salesperson exam has a general portion (80 scored items) and an Arkansas law portion (30 scored items plus 10 unscored pretest items); you have up to 4 hours. Passing scaled score is 70 on each portion. Fee: $75 when you book both portions in the same transaction, or $75 per portion if booked separately. If you pass one portion, you retake only the failed portion within six months; after six months you retake the whole exam. Wait 24 hours before rebooking. Your exam application with AREC is valid one year.

What it costs in Arkansas

Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.

  • $
  • $50–$85
  • $
  • $75
  • $50
  • $25
  • $
Estimated total in Arkansas$200–$235Plus 3 items with no state-set price. Add your quotes above to complete the total.
Cost details from the state
  • Exam fee: $75 for both portions booked together, or $75 per portion (Pearson VUE)
  • State and FBI fingerprint background check: fee not stated by AREC
  • Prelicense and post-license course tuition: set by each school (not stated by AREC)

How long it takes

AREC says that if nothing is missing from your application, it usually takes seven to fourteen business days to process.

After you're licensed

Renewal: Licenses are issued per calendar year and all expire December 31; the 2026 licenses expire December 31, 2026. Renew by September 30 for $60 (salesperson); after September 30 the fee is $80. Active renewal requires 7 hours of continuing education each year. New licensees first owe CE at their second active renewal. An unrenewed license expires January 1 and can be reinstated within one year.

Good to know in Arkansas

Principal broker: Every firm must have one principal broker who is responsible for everyone licensed under the firm. Executive brokers may be assigned to supervise salespersons. Transferring to another firm takes a Transfer form signed by the new broker and a $30 fee.

Licensed in another state: A salesperson licensed in another state can ask to waive the general portion and take only the Arkansas law portion if their general exam met Arkansas standards, the other state's general passing grade was at least 70, and they are licensed there when they test. Non-residents who do not have to test pay a $160 salesperson fee.

Reciprocal states: AREC lists reciprocal agreements with the commissions of Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Washington, and West Virginia.

Military: Under Act 725 of 2021, active-duty military members, returning veterans, and spouses may qualify for automatic licensure or expedited processing; contact AREC.

Application paperwork: The resident exam application must be signed and notarized. If you have ever been licensed in another state, include an original license history from your state of residence and every state where you are or were licensed. Non-residents must also submit a completed fingerprint card.

Sources

Other states

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming

General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC) before you apply.