How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Nevada
Checked against Nevada Real Estate Division (Department of Business and Industry) ·
- Exam
- Required
- Training
- Required
- Term
- First license is valid 1 year (ending the last day of the month it was issued); renewals after that last 2 years
- State fee
- $140 salesperson license fee (Form 501 rev. 08/01/2025 and Form 549 rev. 07/25/2025; credit cards carry a 2% convenience fee). Renewal: $195.
- Licensed by
- Nevada Real Estate Division (Department of Business and Industry)
Who can apply
- Be at least 18 years old (resident or nonresident).
- Complete 120 hours of pre-licensing education.
- Pass the Nevada state exam and the general (national) exam within the last 12 months.
- Submit fingerprints through an approved vendor after signing the fingerprint background waiver.
- Have a broker sign the Acknowledgment of Intent to Employ on your application.
- Nonresidents must submit a notarized Consent to Service of Process (Form 656).
Step by step
- Complete the 120 hours of pre-licensing education at a Nevada-approved school (Form 502 lists approved schools).
- Register and pay for the exam on the Division's website, then schedule with Pearson VUE.
- Pass the state and general portions.
- Sign the fingerprint background waiver and get fingerprinted by an approved vendor (fingerprints expire after 2 months).
- Submit Form 549 with your exam results, education proof, fingerprint verification, the broker's intent-to-employ signature and the $140 fee.
Training and exam
Training: 120 hours: 45 hours (or 3 college credits) of Real Estate Principles, 45 hours (or 3 college credits) of Real Estate Law including 18 hours of Nevada law, a 15-hour Nevada-specific contracts course, and a 15-hour Nevada-specific agency course (including 3 hours on broker–agent relationships and 3 hours on risk reduction). Proof must be certified transcripts, certificates or a certified licensing history.
Exam: Given by Pearson VUE, at a test center or by online proctoring. General (national) portion: 80 questions, 150 minutes. State portion: 40 scored questions, 90 minutes. Combination: 240 minutes, plus 5–10 unscored pretest items. You need 75% to pass. Fee: $100 for the combination or $100 for a single portion, paid to the Division, and each retake costs the same. If you pass one part, you retake only the failed part within 12 months. Your authorization to schedule is valid 1 year from payment.
What it costs in Nevada
Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.
- $
- $100
- $
- $140
Cost details from the state
- Exam fee: $100 per attempt (paid to the Division)
- Fingerprints: fee charged by the approved vendor (amount not stated by the Division)
- Pre-licensing and post-licensing course tuition: not stated by the Division
Pay in Nevada
Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in Nevada after taxes.
What other sites get wrong about Nevada
Myth: You must take the Nevada exam in person in Las Vegas, Elko or Reno, and you book and pay directly with Pearson VUE.
Fact: First you register and pay the exam fee on the Division's website, then book with Pearson VUE. You can test at a center or by online proctoring. source
Myth: PSI gives the Nevada real estate exam.
Fact: Pearson VUE gives the Nevada exam under the Real Estate Division's candidate handbook. source
Myth: The Nevada salesperson license fee is $125.
Fact: The Division's original application (Form 549) lists a $140 salesperson license fee. source
After you're licensed
Renewal: For your first renewal (after 1 year), complete 30 hours of post-licensing education (modules A–O) and send proof to the Division. Later renewals are every 2 years and need 36 hours of CE: 3 agency, 6 contracts, 3 ethics, 3 law and legislation, 3 risk reduction and 18 general, with at least 18 hours taken live. Renewal uses Form 580 and costs $195.
Good to know in Nevada
Employing broker: A Nevada broker, or an office manager with authority, must sign the Acknowledgment of Intent to Employ on Form 549.
Reciprocity: Holders of a current salesperson or higher license from Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Washington or West Virginia may get a reciprocal Nevada salesperson license by passing only the Nevada state exam. Broker-level licensees from the additional states listed on Form 501 also qualify.
Application timing: Apply within 12 months of passing the exam. If you hold or held a real estate license in any state in the past ten years, attach a certified license history dated within 90 days of your application.
Sources
- Nevada Real Estate Division — Form 501 Real Estate Licensing Requirements (rev. 08/01/2025)
- Nevada Real Estate Division — Form 549 Original Application (rev. 07/25/2025)
- Pearson VUE — Nevada Real Estate Candidate Handbook (July 2025)
- Nevada Real Estate Division — Salesperson First Renewal
- Nevada Real Estate Division — Salesperson Subsequent Renewals
Other states
AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Nevada Real Estate Division (Department of Business and Industry) before you apply.