How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Hawaii
Checked against Hawaii Real Estate Commission (Real Estate Branch, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs) ·
- Exam
- Required
- Training
- Required
- Term
- All licenses expire December 31 of each even-numbered year (renewal due by November 30), so a first license lasts up to 2 years
- State fee
- Salesperson license fee: $382 if issued in an odd-numbered year, $282 if issued in an even-numbered year (DCCA fee schedule, HAR Title 16 Chapter 53). The exact amount due is printed on your PSI passing score report. License fees are not prorated.
- Licensed by
- Hawaii Real Estate Commission (Real Estate Branch, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs)
Who can apply
- Be at least 18 years old by the exam date.
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent by the exam date.
- Be a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or a non-citizen authorized to work in the United States by the exam date.
- Provide a Social Security number; the application is not processed without it.
- Have a reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity and fair dealing.
Step by step
- If your background may disqualify you (for example a criminal conviction, discipline, unpaid judgments or tax liens), you may ask the Commission for a non-binding preliminary decision before you start.
- Complete the 60-hour Hawaii salesperson prelicense course at a Commission-registered school, or get a Prelicensing Education Equivalency Certificate. Either certificate is valid for 2 years.
- Upload your School Completion Certificate (or equivalency certificate) to PSI. PSI approves or denies testing within 3 business days.
- Schedule and pass the PSI salesperson exam (uniform and state sections), at a test center or by remote proctoring.
- Within 2 years of passing, submit the complete salesperson license application (given with your passing score report) with the fee shown on the score report, your original completion certificate, and documents for any "yes" answers.
- Associate with a current, active Hawaii-licensed brokerage firm or sole proprietor broker so your license can be issued on active status.
- Wait for the Notice of Licensure showing active status before you start working.
Training and exam
Training: 60-hour Hawaii salesperson prelicense course from a Commission-registered prelicense school, finished before the exam date (curriculum effective January 1, 2021). The School Completion Certificate is valid 2 years. Instead of the course, the Commission may grant a Prelicensing Education Equivalency for a current out-of-state salesperson/broker license (active within the past year, with similar education rules), a U.S. accredited law degree, or a bachelor's degree majoring in real estate or business.
Exam: Given by PSI Services, at a test center or remote proctored. Uniform (general) section: 80 questions, 150 minutes. Hawaii state section: 50 questions, 90 minutes. Both together: 130 questions, 240 minutes. Up to 10 unscored experimental questions may be added. Passing score: 70% for salespersons. Fee: $61, whether you take one or both sections; not refundable, valid 1 year from payment. If you pass one section, you only retake the failed section, but you must pass it within 2 years of the first passed section or retake both. You cannot rebook on the same day as a failed attempt. Out-of-state licensees who passed their state's uniform portion may get an equivalency and take only the Hawaii state section.
What it costs in Hawaii
Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.
- $
- $61
- $282–$382
Cost details from the state
- PSI exam fee: $61 per attempt (one or both sections).
- 60-hour prelicense course tuition: set by the school; not stated by the Commission.
- Prelicensing education or uniform-section equivalency applications: nonrefundable fee; amount not stated on the Commission's general information sheet.
- Dishonored payment service charge: $25.
What other sites get wrong about Hawaii
Myth: The Hawaii salesperson application fee is $50.
Fact: The salesperson license fee is $282 if issued in an even-numbered year or $382 in an odd-numbered year; the exact amount is printed on your PSI passing score report. source
Myth: You register for the Hawaii exam through Pearson VUE and it costs $68.
Fact: The Hawaii real estate exam is given by PSI, and the fee is $61 whether you take one or both sections. source
After you're licensed
Renewal: All licenses expire December 31 of each even-numbered year and must be renewed by November 30 of that year; the renewal fee is $268. To renew on active status you need 20 hours of Commission-approved continuing education each biennium: two 3-hour Commission core courses (Core A and Core B) plus 14 elective hours. Completing only one core course earns no core credit. A salesperson first licensed in an even-numbered year is deemed to have met the CE requirement for that first renewal. Without CE, the license renews on inactive status. A license not renewed by December 31 is forfeited on January 1. For the 2026 renewal, online renewal through MyPVL opens October 19, 2026 and the deadline is November 30, 2026.
Good to know in Hawaii
Broker association: To be licensed on active status, you must be employed by or associated with a current and active Hawaii-licensed real estate brokerage firm or sole proprietor broker.
Reciprocity: Hawaii does not reciprocate with any other state or country. Out-of-state licensees may apply for an equivalency to the prelicense education and/or to the uniform exam section, but must still pass the Hawaii state section.
Application deadline: Your complete license application must reach the Commission within 2 years of your exam date. After that, you are treated as an unsuccessful candidate and must retake the exam.
Paper application: The salesperson license application is provided with your passing score report and is filed by mail or in person with the DCCA Licensing Branch, 335 Merchant St., Room 301, Honolulu, HI 96813.
Sources
- Hawaii DCCA — General Information for Real Estate License
- Hawaii Real Estate Commission — Steps to become a salesperson on active status (flowchart)
- Hawaii Real Estate Branch — Examination Candidates and License Applicants
- Hawaii Real Estate Branch — Examination Prerequisites
- Hawaii Real Estate Branch — Application/Registration Fees
- Hawaii Real Estate Branch — Prelicense Curricula and Continuing Education Requirements
- Hawaii Real Estate Branch — Licensing, Renewals, and Education FAQs
- PSI — Hawaii Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (effective 1/16/2026)
- Hawaii Real Estate Commission Bulletin sf2607; Licensing, Renewals, and Education FAQs
Other states
AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Hawaii Real Estate Commission (Real Estate Branch, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs) before you apply.