Quibank app: now on the App Store — free, works offline. Get the app ↗

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Nebraska

Checked against Nebraska Real Estate Commission (NREC) ·

Exam
Required
Training
Required
Term
First license expires December 31 of the year it is issued; after that, 2-year renewals
State fee
$175 license application fee and $90 original salesperson license fee (covers the current calendar year only; not prorated). Renewal: $180 for 2 years.
Licensed by
Nebraska Real Estate Commission (NREC)
Take the free real estate practice test →

Who can apply

  • Be at least 19 years old before taking the exam.
  • Have a high school diploma, GED, or proof of home-school participation (foreign diplomas need an equivalency evaluation).
  • Be lawfully present in the United States.
  • Complete 96 hours of approved pre-license education.
  • Pass a fingerprint-based criminal background check.
  • Have a designated broker and errors and omissions insurance before an active license is issued.

Step by step

  1. Complete the 96 hours of pre-license education: 90 hours in 3 courses plus the 6-hour Professional Practice and Standards course (#0003).
  2. Apply online through the NREC portal, pay the $175 application fee and the $150 exam fee, and upload a passport-style photo.
  3. Complete the fingerprint background check with the cards NREC sends after your application is filed.
  4. After NREC approves you, schedule the Pearson VUE exam and pass with 75% or higher.
  5. Within 30 days of passing, upload your score reports, get E&O insurance and broker approval, and pay the $90 license fee with the License Issuance form.
  6. Complete post-license Course 7000 (12 hours) within 180 days of being licensed.

Official application →

Training and exam

Training: 96 hours total: 90 clock hours in 3 approved pre-license courses (30 hours Real Estate Principles and Practices, 30 hours Nebraska Real Estate License Law, and 30 hours in another approved pre-license course) plus the 6-hour Professional Practice and Standards course (#0003). This replaced the earlier 66-hour requirement for applicants not scheduled to test before January 1, 2026. College transcripts must be sent directly to the Commission.

Exam: Given by Pearson VUE. National portion: 80 questions, 2.5 hours. State portion: 50 questions, 1.5 hours. Total time is 4 hours, plus 5–10 unscored pretest items. You need 75% to pass. The $150 exam fee is paid to NREC with your application, and each retake costs $150 through a retake application. Salesperson candidates keep credit for a passed portion for 3 more attempts or 6 months, whichever comes first.

What it costs in Nebraska

Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.

  • $
  • $175
  • $150
  • $
  • $90
  • $
Estimated total in Nebraska$415Plus 3 items with no state-set price. Add your quotes above to complete the total.
Cost details from the state
  • Exam fee: $150 per attempt, paid to NREC
  • Errors and omissions insurance: required for an active license (NREC offers a group plan; cost not stated)
  • Fingerprint background check: cost not stated in the sources checked
  • Pre-license and Course 7000 tuition: not stated by NREC

How long it takes

The Real Estate Commission says staff review application materials within 24 to 48 hours, and the typical application process takes about 4 to 8 weeks.

What other sites get wrong about Nebraska

Myth: Nebraska requires a 66-hour pre-license course.

Fact: The current requirement is 96 hours: three 30-hour courses plus the 6-hour Professional Practice and Standards course (#0003). source

Myth: PSI gives the Nebraska real estate exam.

Fact: Pearson VUE gives the Nebraska exam. Once NREC approves you, Pearson emails you, and you schedule on Pearson VUE's Nebraska page. source

After you're licensed

Renewal: Renew every 2 years for $180 by December 31 (renew before November 30 to avoid late fees). Late renewals pay $25 per month or part of a month on top of the renewal fee; for the 2026 renewal this starts December 1, 2026 and the late option ends June 30, 2027. CE is not required for the first renewal. After that, active licensees need 18 clock hours every 2 years: at least 12 hours of Commission-approved CE (including 6 hours of designated "R" courses), with up to 6 hours from Commission-approved training. Property managers need 3 more hours. Proof of E&O insurance is required to renew.

Good to know in Nebraska

30-day rule: You must complete licensing within 30 days of being told you passed, or you must retake the exam. Your application and background report are valid for 1 year from receipt.

Post-license education: Complete Course 7000 (12 hours) within 180 days of licensure, or you are placed on inactive status. Team members also need a 3-hour team course within 180 days.

Errors and omissions insurance: An active license is not issued or renewed until NREC has proof of E&O coverage.

Licensed in another state: NREC has a separate License Recognition process for applicants licensed in other states (see its License Recognition checklist).

Sources

Other states

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming

General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Nebraska Real Estate Commission (NREC) before you apply.