Quibank app: now on the App Store — free, works offline. Get the app ↗

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Georgia

Checked against Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) ·

Exam
Required
Training
Required
Term
About 4 years; ends in your birth month in the fourth calendar year after activation
State fee
$170 license fee, which covers all fees for the first four years of licensure: under GREC Rule 520-1-.04, a $45 activation fee (including $20 for the Real Estate Education, Research, and Recovery Fund) plus the $125 four-year renewal fee.
Licensed by
Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC)
Take the free real estate practice test →

Who can apply

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Be a high school graduate or hold a certificate of equivalency (GED).
  • Bring your criminal history (Georgia Crime Information Center, GCIC) report to the PSI test center before you receive a license. If it shows convictions or sanctions, the Commission investigates before deciding.
  • With a single felony or crime of moral turpitude conviction, you cannot apply until 2 years after completing all terms of the sentence; with multiple such convictions, 5 years.
  • Submit a signed, notarized lawful presence affidavit with a secure and verifiable ID.

Step by step

  1. Complete the 75-hour Salesperson Prelicense Course at a GREC-approved school (or an approved college or out-of-state equivalent).
  2. Register with PSI and pay the $175 exam fee, then pass the salesperson exam.
  3. Get your GCIC criminal history report and, for an active license, a Sponsoring Broker Statement signed by your Georgia broker.
  4. At least 24 hours after passing, and within 12 months, return to a PSI test center with your ID, Certification of Accuracy, GCIC report, and lawful presence affidavit, and pay the $170 license fee. PSI issues the license on site.
  5. Complete the 25-hour Salesperson Postlicense course within your first year of licensure, or the license lapses.

Official application →

Training and exam

Training: One of: the 75-hour Salesperson Prelicense Course at a GREC-approved school; 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours of real estate coursework from an accredited U.S. or Canadian college, or real property, agency, or contract law courses from a law school; or at least 75 hours of prelicense coursework approved by another state or Canadian province. New salespersons must also finish a Commission-approved 25-hour Salesperson Postlicense course in their first year, even if the license is inactive.

Exam: PSI. The exam has a national portion and a Georgia state portion, with 1 to 10 unscored experimental questions that count against your time. Fee: $175, nonrefundable; it is forfeited if you do not test within 1 year of PSI receiving it. You can retest as soon as the next day after rebooking (not the same day). Apply for the license within 12 months of the exam or you must retake it. Eligible veterans can get 5 or 10 preference points after a failing score. GREC and PSI do not state the passing score or the question counts per portion.

What it costs in Georgia

Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.

  • $
  • $175
  • $
  • $170
  • $
Estimated total in Georgia$345Plus 3 items with no state-set price. Add your quotes above to complete the total.
Cost details from the state
  • Exam fee: $175 (PSI)
  • GCIC criminal history report: fee not stated by GREC
  • Prelicense and postlicense course tuition: set by each school (not stated by GREC)

What other sites get wrong about Georgia

Myth: The Georgia salesperson exam costs $119.

Fact: GREC sets the PSI exam fee at $175, nonrefundable. source

Myth: Georgia agents need 37 hours of continuing education every four years.

Fact: Active licensees (license numbers above 100,000) need 36 hours of approved CE every four-year period, including 3 hours on license law. source

After you're licensed

Renewal: Licenses renew every four years. You can renew online up to 120 days before your renewal date for $100 ($125 by mail); missing the date lapses the license and adds a late fee. Active licensees with license numbers above 100,000 must complete 36 hours of approved continuing education each four-year period, including 3 hours on license law. The 25-hour postlicense course is due in the first year. Inactive licensees must still pay renewal fees.

Good to know in Georgia

Sponsoring broker: To hold an active license, a salesperson must affiliate with a resident or non-resident broker licensed by GREC and bring a signed Sponsoring Broker Statement to the PSI test center. Without one, you can take the license on inactive status (still paying the license and renewal fees).

Reciprocity: Georgia offers licensing by reciprocity to licensees from all states. If you earned your license by passing an exam and it is in good standing, you may get a Georgia license without an exam using the Real Estate Reciprocal Application. Florida residents must pass the Georgia state portion (the Georgia Supplement Exam).

Sources

Other states

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming

General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) before you apply.