Quibank app: now on the App Store — free, works offline. Get the app ↗

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in New Hampshire

Checked against New Hampshire Real Estate Commission (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification, OPLC) ·

Exam
Required
Training
Required
Term
2 years
State fee
Salesperson application fee: $99 (OPLC fee page); renewal is also $99. The Commission's administrative rules still list $90.
Licensed by
New Hampshire Real Estate Commission (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification, OPLC)
Take the free real estate practice test →

Who can apply

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Complete 40 hours of accredited pre-licensing study before the exam date.
  • Pass both the national and state portions of the exam.
  • Have no record of unprofessional conduct, and provide any evidence of good reputation the Commission requires.
  • Complete the criminal records check: a notarized criminal record release to the NH State Police (reports are valid 6 months).

Step by step

  1. Complete a 40-hour accredited pre-licensing course (at least 32 hours in class or live online, no more than 8 hours of distance education).
  2. Register online with PSI and take the exam within 6 months of starting the course. The exam must also be taken within 3 months of registering.
  3. Pass the national and state portions with a score of 70.
  4. Submit the notarized criminal record release to the NH State Police.
  5. Apply online in the OPLC licensing portal with your exam results and pay the $99 application fee.

Official application →

Training and exam

Training: 40 hours of accredited pre-licensing education: at least 32 hours of classroom or real-time live online attendance and no more than 8 hours of distance education, completed within 6 months before the exam. Out-of-state national coursework (34 hours) can be combined with at least 6 hours of accredited New Hampshire material. If you pass any part of the exam without having met the education requirement, you must retake the whole exam.

Exam: Given by PSI; register online only. National portion: 80 questions, 150 minutes, 56 points to pass. State portion: 40 questions, 90 minutes, 28 points to pass. Both: 120 questions, 240 minutes. Fees: $66 for both, $34 national only, $32 state only (PSI bulletin updated 7/1/2025). You pay for each attempt. If you do not pass both portions within 6 months of your first exam, or within 8 attempts, you must take another accredited pre-licensing course.

What it costs in New Hampshire

Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.

  • $
  • $
  • $66
  • $99
Estimated total in New Hampshire$165Plus 2 items with no state-set price. Add your quotes above to complete the total.
Cost details from the state
  • Exam fee: $66 for both portions (PSI)
  • Criminal record check: fee paid to the NH State Police (amount not stated by OPLC)
  • Pre-licensing course tuition: not stated by OPLC

Pay in New Hampshire

Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in New Hampshire after taxes.

What other sites get wrong about New Hampshire

Myth: The New Hampshire exam fee is $155, paid by check to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire.

Fact: You register and pay PSI online: $66 for both portions ($34 national only, $32 state only). source

Myth: The New Hampshire salesperson license application fee is $40.

Fact: OPLC's fee schedule lists a $99 salesperson application fee, and renewal is also $99. source

After you're licensed

Renewal: Licenses run 2 years. Every renewal needs one 3-hour accredited core course; active renewals also need 12 elective hours. For a salesperson's first renewal, the rules require the 12 hours to be post-licensing courses covering purchase and sales agreements, ethics, disclosure forms and agency. OPLC's current notice says that until new rules are adopted, any 12 accredited elective hours satisfy the requirement. The renewal fee is $99. CE is tracked in CE Broker.

Good to know in New Hampshire

Reciprocity: PSI's New Hampshire bulletin says NH has reciprocity with all 50 states. Reciprocity applicants must include a letter of good standing.

Principal broker: Your license certificate names your principal broker, and OPLC lists a principal broker affiliation change process.

Lapsed license: Licenses lapse if the renewal is not filed by the expiration date. Reinstating within 6-12 months also requires the 40-hour pre-licensing course plus CE; after more than 1 year expired, you must file a new initial application.

Sources

Other states

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming

General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with New Hampshire Real Estate Commission (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification, OPLC) before you apply.