How to Become a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) in Tennessee
Checked against Tennessee Health Facilities Commission (HFC), Nurse Aide Program ·
- Exam
- Required
- Training
- Required
- Term
- 2 years
- State fee
- See state office
- Certified by
- Tennessee Health Facilities Commission (HFC), Nurse Aide Program
Who can apply
- You must complete a nurse aide training program approved by the Tennessee Health Facilities Commission (75-hour program).
- You must pass the knowledge exam and the skills evaluation within 24 months of finishing the class.
- New nurse aides apply under Credentia route E1, which requires training completed within the last 24 months.
Step by step
- Complete an HFC-approved nurse aide training program (75 hours).
- Create a Credentia account and submit the E1 (new nurse aide) application.
- Pay for and schedule the knowledge exam (online or at a test center) and the skills exam (at a test center).
- Pass both parts within two years of finishing training, with no more than three attempts at each.
- You are listed on the Tennessee Nurse Aide Registry; anyone can look you up on Credentia's site.
Training and exam
Training: Tennessee rule 0720-18-.15 refers to a 75-hour nurse aide training program, with an instructor present or readily available on-site during all clinical training hours. The HFC page says program length and requirements vary and to contact programs directly. This matches the 75-hour federal minimum. HFC approves programs.
Exam: Since June 1, 2026, Credentia (not D&SDT-Headmaster) gives the Tennessee Nurse Aide exam: a knowledge exam (online or at a test center; English or Spanish oral online) and a skills evaluation at a test center. The knowledge exam has 75 multiple-choice questions (10 are unscored experimental questions) with a 2-hour limit; you need 75% or better to pass. Fees: knowledge $35, skills $87. You get three attempts at each part within two years of finishing training; after a third failure you must retrain. Credentia's skill steps differ from the previous vendor's, so use the current Credentia handbook.
What it costs in Tennessee
Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.
- $
- $35
- $87
Cost details from the state
- Credentia exam fees: knowledge exam $35 (test center or online), oral exam online $35, skills exam $87. Fees are not refundable.
- Before June 1, 2026, Headmaster charged $40 (knowledge) and $100 (skills); those fees no longer apply to new tests.
- Training and testing are free if you train in a nursing home program and work for a skilled nursing facility. Other programs set their own fees. If a nursing home hires you within 12 months after training, it reimburses you: half after 130 hours worked and the rest after another 130 hours.
- HFC does not state a background check requirement or fee for registry listing.
Pay in Tennessee
Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in Tennessee after taxes.
How long it takes
HFC says reciprocity applications typically take no more than one week after all information is received; it does not state a processing time for new nurse aides.
Staying on the registry
Renewal: Certification lasts 24 months. To renew you must prove at least 8 hours of work in a licensed or certified healthcare facility in that period (pay stub, payroll printout, or notarized attestation from the facility). Private duty, sitter, companion and private physician-office work do not count. Renewals moved to Credentia on June 1, 2026. If your certification expires you must reinstate it: show proof of 8 hours worked in each year, starting the year before the expiration year through the current year. If you cannot show continuous qualifying work, you must retrain and retest.
Online options: Credentia offers the knowledge exam online and at test centers; the skills exam is at a test center only. HFC does not state whether training can be done online.
Good to know in Tennessee
Transferring from another state: Apply for reciprocity (route E3) online through Credentia if you are active in another state with no abuse or derogatory findings. No test is needed. Tennessee accepts reciprocity from every state except Florida; Florida-certified aides must train and test in Tennessee.
Challenging the exam: LPN or RN students can ask to challenge the exam with original transcripts showing nursing fundamentals and skills; military medics can apply with a DD-214 plus documentation of classroom and clinical experience (route E2).
Testing availability: HFC's FAQ says Credentia is still adding test sites and evaluators after the June 2026 switch, so check your Credentia console often for open seats.
Previously certified in Tennessee: If you were ever certified in Tennessee before, contact the Nurse Aide Registry to see whether you can reinstate before you file a reciprocity application.
Sources
- Tennessee HFC - Nurse Aide Information
- Tennessee HFC - Nurse Aide Examination Program FAQ
- Credentia (TN) - Exam Fees
- Credentia (TN) - Eligibility Criteria
- Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0720-18-.15 - Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation (Cornell LII)
- D&SDT-Headmaster - Tennessee Nurse Aide Candidate Handbook v28 (Nov. 2025; vendor before June 1, 2026)
- Credentia (TN) - Exam Overview
Other states
AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTexasVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Tennessee Health Facilities Commission (HFC), Nurse Aide Program before you apply.