Quibank app: now on the App Store — free, works offline. Get the app ↗

How to Become a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) in Delaware

Checked against Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ), CNA Registry ·

Exam
Required
Training
Required
Term
2 years
State fee
See state office
Certified by
Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ), CNA Registry
Take the free CNA practice test →

Who can apply

  • Route 1: complete a Delaware-approved nurse aide training program within the last 24 months and pass the CNA Competency Exam.
  • Other exam routes: nursing students who completed a Fundamentals/Basic Nursing course; lapsed Delaware CNAs; active out-of-state CNAs without three months of full-time work; RN/LPN graduates of more than 24 months.
  • No exam needed: out-of-state CNAs who qualify for reciprocity, and RN/LPN graduates of less than 24 months (deemed certification).

Step by step

  1. Complete a DHCQ-approved CNA training program (at least 91 clock hours).
  2. Complete the Prometric Delaware exam application online.
  3. Take the clinical skills test and the written test at your scheduled test location, bringing the required ID.
  4. Pass both within three attempts and within 24 months of finishing training. Your name is added to the Delaware CNA Registry, where you can view and print your certification.

Official application →

Training and exam

Training: Delaware requires at least 91 clock hours: 75 hours of classroom instruction (including lab) plus 16 hours of clinical skills training in a Department-approved Delaware licensed facility. That is 16 hours above the 75-hour federal minimum. Separately, every CNA hired by a facility must get at least 80 hours of orientation, at least 40 of them clinical.

Exam: Prometric gives the Delaware CNA Competency Exam: a written section and a clinical skills section. You have three attempts to pass both within 24 months of finishing training; otherwise you must retrain. DHCQ lists a $115 fee, payable to Prometric, for the written and clinical skills exams (stated for lapsed CNAs retesting).

What it costs in Delaware

Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.

  • $
  • $115
Estimated total in Delaware$115Plus 1 item with no state-set price. Add your quotes above to complete the total.
Cost details from the state
  • Prometric written + clinical skills exam: $115 (as listed by DHCQ).
  • Renewal fee: $25 every certification period, paid online through RELIAS.
  • Reciprocity applicants pay a reciprocity fee; DHCQ does not state the amount on its page.
  • Training tuition varies by program. If a Medicare/Medicaid-certified nursing home employs you within 12 months after you finish training and testing, you may be reimbursed for training and testing fees; keep your receipts.

Pay in Delaware

Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in Delaware after taxes.

Starting out on an entry-level wage? Check the SNAP income limits in Delaware by household size.

What other sites get wrong about Delaware

Myth: Delaware CNA candidates must complete a 150-hour training program split evenly between classroom and clinical (75 hours each).

Fact: DHCQ requires a minimum of 91 clock hours: 75 hours of classroom instruction (including lab) and 16 hours of clinical skills training. source

Myth: Delaware certifies nursing assistants through the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection (DLTCRP).

Fact: The Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ) runs Delaware's CNA training and testing program and maintains the CNA Registry. source

Staying on the registry

Renewal: Each 24-month certification period, complete at least 24 hours of approved continuing education through RELIAS (including 6 hours of dementia training and 2 hours on abuse/neglect prevention), work at least 64 paid hours under a nurse or physician (self-reported on the RELIAS form z64), and pay a $25 renewal fee. If you miss these by your expiration date, your certification lapses and you must pass both Prometric exams again ($115).

Online options: Renewal continuing education is completed online through RELIAS. DHCQ does not state an online option for initial training or the exam.

Good to know in Delaware

Transferring from another state: Reciprocity (no exam) is available if you hold a current CNA certificate (or a Maryland GNA) in good standing and, within the last 24 months, worked 3 months full-time (420 clock hours) as a CNA under nurse or physician supervision or completed a program with at least as many hours as Delaware's. Submit the CNA Reciprocity Application with the fee. Active out-of-state CNAs without that work can take the Delaware exam without retraining.

Recent RN/LPN graduates: If you graduated from a U.S. RN or LPN program less than 24 months ago, apply to DHCQ with a sealed copy of your diploma for deemed certification without testing.

Sources

Other states

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming

General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ), CNA Registry before you apply.