Quibank app: now on the App Store — free, works offline. Get the app ↗

How to Become a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) in Oklahoma

Checked against Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH), Nurse Aide Registry ·

Exam
Required
Training
Required
Term
2 years
State fee
No fee. OSDH rules say no fee is charged for certification as a long term care aide only.
Certified by
Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH), Nurse Aide Registry
Take the free CNA practice test →

Who can apply

  • Oklahoma certifies nursing home nurse aides as Long Term Care Aides (certified nurse aides).
  • You must complete an OSDH-approved long term care aide training program of at least 75 hours.
  • You must pass the competency examination: a written or oral test and a skills test.
  • A state criminal history background check is required (63 O.S. 1-1950.1); employer-based programs run it, and other programs must tell you a disqualifying record will remove you from training.

Step by step

  1. Complete an OSDH-approved long term care aide training program (at least 75 hours).
  2. Complete the criminal history background check required for your program or employer.
  3. Take the competency examination (written or oral, plus skills) with an approved testing entity.
  4. The testing entity sends your results to the Nurse Aide Registry within 30 days.
  5. OSDH adds you to the Nurse Aide Registry within 30 days of being found competent. There is no fee for long term care aide certification.

Training and exam

Training: Oklahoma's rule (OAC 310:677-11-4) requires at least 75 hours of training, including 16 hours in five set topics before any direct contact with residents and at least 16 hours of supervised practical training. This equals the federal 75-hour minimum. OSDH's Nurse Aide Registry approves training programs.

Exam: The competency examination has a written or oral portion (your choice) and a skills portion graded by a clinical skills observer. You need at least 70% on the written or oral test and 80% accuracy on the skills test. If you fail, you may retake the exam a total of two more times without further training. OSDH's pages do not name a single testing vendor or state exam fees.

What it costs in Oklahoma

Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.

  • $0
  • $
  • $
  • $
Estimated total in Oklahoma$0Plus 3 items with no state-set price. Add your quotes above to complete the total.
Cost details from the state
  • Competency exam fee: set by the testing entity; not stated by OSDH.
  • Criminal history background check: required, but OSDH does not state the fee.
  • Training tuition varies by program. Federal rule: if a nursing home employs you or has offered you a job when you start training, you cannot be charged for the training or its books.

Pay in Oklahoma

Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in Oklahoma after taxes.

Starting out on an entry-level wage? Check the SNAP income limits in Oklahoma by household size.

How long it takes

OSDH rules require the registry to list you within 30 days of the date you are found competent, and OSDH says the testing entity has 30 days to submit test results.

Staying on the registry

Renewal: Renew every two years with the Renewal Application for Long Term Care Aide (online or PDF); there is no fee for long term care aides. You swear you did at least 8 hours of paid nursing or health-related work in the previous 24 months and must show proof if asked. Without that work, you must retest (no fee for LTC retest) or retrain. If you go 48 months without renewing, you are archived and must retrain and retest.

Online options: OSDH does not state that any part of training or testing may be done online.

Good to know in Oklahoma

Transferring from another state: Apply through OSDH's Long Term Care Reciprocity application (digital). There is no fee for long term care aide reciprocity.

Retesting after a lapse: If you lacked 8 hours of paid work in 24 months, or your certification expired over 2 but under 3 years ago, file the Certified Nurse Aide Retest Application (no fee for LTC). If expired 3 years or more, you must retrain. Failing the retest means retraining.

Working while in training: A facility employing you while you train must have you finish training and competency testing within four months, complete the required pre-contact training first, and keep you supervised by at least an LPN.

Other routes: OSDH has RN/LPN training waiver and US and foreign training exception applications for people with equivalent nursing education.

Where you take the written exam: OSDH's Testing Sites link points to Oklahoma CareerTech's Health Certification Project (HCP) test sites at technology centers. The long term care written exam is HCP test "Long Term Care - 7C". You pay the testing fee to the test site when you register (contact the site for the amount) and must bring the original Training Verification Form signed by your training program supervisor (or an approval letter from the Nurse Aide Registry), a valid government photo ID, and proof of your Social Security number.

Sources

Other states

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming

General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH), Nurse Aide Registry before you apply.