Quibank app: now on the App Store — free, works offline. Get the app ↗

How to Become a CNA: Certification Requirements by State

Checked against official state sources ·

Certified nursing assistants (CNAs) help patients with daily care under a nurse's supervision. Federal rules require at least 75 hours of approved training and a competency exam for nurse aides in nursing homes, and many states require more training hours or add their own rules.

Of the 49 states covered here, 49 require the competency exam and 47 require approved training before you test — the table below shows where your state falls.

The steps most states share

  1. Complete a state-approved nurse aide training program (at least 75 hours under federal rules; many states require more).
  2. Pass the background check your state requires.
  3. Register for and pass your state's competency exam (most states pair a written or oral test with a hands-on skills test).
  4. Get listed on your state's nurse aide registry.
  5. Keep your listing active by meeting your state's renewal rules: usually paid nursing work in each period, and in some states continuing education or a renewal fee.

Requirements by state

StateExamTrainingTermState fee
AlabamaYesYes2 yrs—
AlaskaYesYesUp to 2 years: every Alaska CNA certificate expires March 31 of even-numbered years, whatever the issue date (certificates issued within 90 days of that date run to the next cycle).$275 total paid to the State of Alaska: $100 nonrefundable application fee, $100 certification fee and $75 nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee.
ArizonaYesYes2 yrs—
ArkansasYesYes2 yrsNone. DHS says it does not require an initial fee for this occupational license.
CaliforniaYesYes2 yrs—
ColoradoYesYes2 yrs—
ConnecticutYesYes2 yrs—
DelawareYesYes2 yrs—
FloridaYesNo2 yrs—
GeorgiaYesYes2 yrs—
HawaiiYesYes2 yrs—
IdahoYesYes2 yrsNone. DHW says there are no fees to process any forms or certifications with the Idaho CNA Registry, except a $15 fee for a duplicate certificate or change request.
IllinoisYesYesDoesn't expire while you keep working—
IndianaYesYes2 yrs—
IowaYesYesDoesn't expire; stay active by working 8 hours every 24 months—
KansasYesYesNot stated in K.A.R. 26-50; under federal rules (42 CFR 483.35(d)(6)), 24 months with no paid nursing work requires new training or testing.$20 nonrefundable application fee each time you are scheduled for the state test (K.A.R. 26-50-24). A no-show must pay another $20 to be rescheduled.
KentuckyYesYes2 yrs—
LouisianaYesYes2 yrs—
MaineYesYes2 yrs—
MarylandYesYes2 yrs$20 initial CNA certification fee paid to the Board of Nursing (COMAR 10.39.01.03; fee schedule effective July 1, 2025). Fees are not refundable.
MassachusettsYesYes2 yrs—
MichiganYesYes2 yrs$40 registration fee (paid in MI-NATES)
MinnesotaYesNoActive while you work 8 paid hours every 24 months—
MississippiYesYes2 yrs—
MissouriYesYes2 yrs—
MontanaYesYesDPHHS's page does not state the length of a certificate term. Certificates have an expiration date and can be renewed starting 90 days before it.—
NebraskaYesYesNo expiration date. Your Registry status stays Active as long as you work as a nurse aide in a paid position in an approved setting within 24 months of your last nurse aide job.None. DHHS says there are no application or fees for nurse aides.
NevadaYesYes2 yrs$50 non-refundable CNA by Examination application fee, paid to the Board through the Nevada Nurse Portal.
New HampshireYesYes2 yrs$66 non-refundable LNA application fee, which includes the mandatory $28 Professionals' Health Program (PHP) fee.
New JerseyYesYes2 yrs—
New MexicoYesYes2 yrs—
New YorkYesYes2 yrs—
North CarolinaYesYes2 yrsNone ("There are no registry fees")
North DakotaYesYes2 yrsNo fee. North Dakota rule says you may not be charged a fee for initial certified nurse aide registry status or renewal.
OhioYesYesNo renewal; stay active with verified paid work every 24 months—
OklahomaYesYes2 yrsNo fee. OSDH rules say no fee is charged for certification as a long term care aide only.
OregonYesYes2 yrs$106 for certification by examination (includes the first exam), plus a $61 fingerprinting fee, both paid to OSBN.
PennsylvaniaYesYes2 yrs—
Rhode IslandYesYes2 yrs$35 RIDOH application fee (nonrefundable), payable to the RI General Treasurer.
South CarolinaYesYes2 yrs—
South DakotaYesYes2 yrs—
TennesseeYesYes2 yrs—
TexasYesYes2 yrs—
VermontYesYesAll LNA licenses expire November 30 of even-numbered years. A first license issued 90 days or less before that date runs through the next full two-year period. One issued 91 or more days before it must be renewed at the upcoming renewal.$25 LNA application fee to OPR (non-refundable). The renewal fee is $65 (OPR fee chart updated 7/1/2025).
VirginiaYesYesYour first certification lasts 2 years. After that, you renew every year.$0. DHP's fee table lists no application fee for a Certified Nurse Aide. The annual renewal is $30.
WashingtonYesYes1 yrs$85 NAC initial application fee (non-refundable). Renewal is $95 every year.
West VirginiaYesYes2 yrs—
WisconsinYesYes2 yrs—
WyomingYesYesAll certificates expire December 31 of even-numbered years. If you are certified in an even year, you must renew by December 31 of that same year.$60 CNA certification by examination plus a $60 DCI background check fee, both paid to WSBN (Chapter 5, effective 05/26/2026). Card payments add a 2.4% processing fee (minimum $1).

More states are added only once their rules are checked against the state's own commissioning office.

General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with your state's commissioning office before you apply.