How to Become a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) in North Dakota
Checked against North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Health Facilities Unit, Nurse Aide Registry ·
- Exam
- Required
- Training
- Required
- Term
- 2 years
- State fee
- No fee. North Dakota rule says you may not be charged a fee for initial certified nurse aide registry status or renewal.
- Certified by
- North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Health Facilities Unit, Nurse Aide Registry
Who can apply
- You must complete a DHHS-approved certified nurse aide training program of at least 75 hours.
- You must pass the DHHS-approved competency evaluation (knowledge and skills tests) given by Headmaster.
- Since July 1, 2024, you can no longer challenge the North Dakota CNA exam without training.
Step by step
- Complete a DHHS-approved CNA training program (at least 75 hours, with 16 classroom hours before any resident contact and at least 16 hours of supervised practical training).
- Your training program enters you in Headmaster's TMU system (nd.tmutest.com); pay and schedule your knowledge and skills tests.
- Pass both the knowledge test and the skills test.
- Headmaster sends your results to DHHS, which lists you on the Nurse Aide Registry as a certified nurse aide. There is no fee for CNA registry status.
Training and exam
Training: North Dakota requires at least 75 hours, including 16 hours of classroom training in five set topics before any hands-on contact with residents and at least 16 hours of supervised practical training. This equals the federal 75-hour minimum. If a nursing home employs you while training, you must finish within four months of starting work. DHHS's Health Facilities Unit approves programs.
Exam: D&SDT-Headmaster is the only DHHS-approved test vendor. The knowledge test has 72 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes and needs 75% to pass; an audio version costs extra. The skills test has 3 or 4 randomly chosen tasks in 30 minutes; you must do all key steps and 80% of other steps on each task. You get 3 attempts; after 3 failures you must complete an approved training program again. DHHS and the current handbook do not state the exam fees.
What it costs in North Dakota
Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.
- $0
- $
- $
Cost details from the state
- Headmaster exam fees: not stated in the DHHS pages or Headmaster's current North Dakota handbook (April 2025). You pay again for any part you fail. A test review request costs a $25 deposit.
- Training tuition varies by program. Federal rule: if a nursing home employs you or has offered you a job when you start training, you cannot be charged for the training or its books.
Pay in North Dakota
Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in North Dakota after taxes.
Starting out on an entry-level wage? Check the SNAP income limits in North Dakota by household size.
How long it takes
North Dakota rule requires DHHS to enter a passing candidate on the registry within 14 days of being found competent; DHHS says to allow 7 to 10 business days for online test results.
What other sites get wrong about North Dakota
Myth: North Dakota charges a $25 non-refundable application fee to become a CNA.
Fact: There is no fee for certified nurse aide registry status or renewal. The $25 fee applies to other categories, such as nurse aide (non-certified), home health aide and medication aide. source
Myth: North Dakota CNA candidates have three attempts at each part within six months of their testing eligibility date.
Fact: The North Dakota rule and Headmaster's handbook give three attempts to pass the competency evaluation, then retraining. Neither sets a six-month window. source
Staying on the registry
Renewal: CNA registry status lasts 24 months. Submit a renewal application with verification of employment in the past 24 months; there is no fee. If you have not done at least 8 hours of paid nursing or nursing-related work in a continuous 24-month period, you must retrain or pass the competency evaluation again.
Online options: DHHS does not state that any part of training may be taken online, and the North Dakota handbook does not list a remote knowledge exam.
Good to know in North Dakota
Transferring from another state: CNAs with current registry status and no findings in another state can be endorsed onto the North Dakota registry, but must meet North Dakota's requirements for active status.
Working while in training: A nursing facility may employ you while you are enrolled in an approved program for no more than four months before you are on the registry.
Reactivating an expired listing: If you completed an approved program before but your registration expired, you can reactivate by taking the exam (see the handbook's Reactivation by Examination section).
Sources
- ND DHHS - Certified Nurse Aide Information
- ND DHHS - Nurse Aide Registry and Certified Nurse Aide (fees)
- ND DHHS - Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program (approved test vendor)
- North Dakota Administrative Code Chapter 33-43-01
- D&SDT-Headmaster - North Dakota Candidate Handbook (Version 6, updated April 2025)
- D&SDT-Headmaster - North Dakota CNA Testing
Other states
AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Health Facilities Unit, Nurse Aide Registry before you apply.