How to Become a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) in Nevada
Checked against Nevada State Board of Nursing (NSBN) ·
- Exam
- Required
- Training
- Required
- Term
- 2 years
- State fee
- $50 non-refundable CNA by Examination application fee, paid to the Board through the Nevada Nurse Portal.
- Certified by
- Nevada State Board of Nursing (NSBN)
Who can apply
- You must complete a Board-approved nursing assistant training program that meets federal OBRA requirements (or show a transcript proving you completed "nursing fundamentals").
- You must apply to the Board within one year of finishing training, or you must retrain.
- You must pass both the knowledge and skills exams.
- You must submit fingerprints for a Nevada Department of Public Safety and FBI background check.
- You must have a valid U.S. Social Security number or individual taxpayer ID number.
Step by step
- Complete a Board-approved nursing assistant training program (at least 75 hours).
- Create a Nevada Nurse Portal account and submit the CNA by Examination application with the $50 fee.
- Read the Board's CNA Skills Guidelines and the advisory opinion on hours of employment for renewal before you apply.
- Submit fingerprints: electronic (live scan) if you are in Nevada, or an FD-258 card mailed with the Board's fingerprint form.
- Your training program enters you in Headmaster's TMU system. Pay the testing fee and schedule your knowledge and skills exams at nv.tmutest.com within one year of finishing training.
- Pass both exams. Headmaster sends your results to the Board.
- The Board issues your certificate after both DPS and FBI fingerprint reports are received. Nevada does not mail cards; print proof from the Board's website.
Training and exam
Training: Nevada requires 75 hours of instruction, with no less than 60 hours of theory and skills learning in a laboratory setting, plus at least one clinical site under a signed clinical agreement. The Nevada State Board of Nursing approves programs. The 75 hours equal the federal 75-hour minimum.
Exam: D&SDT-Headmaster now gives the Nevada nursing assistant exam; the Board says it is transitioning to Headmaster, and Headmaster's Nevada handbook took effect July 1, 2026. The knowledge test has 75 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes and needs 80% to pass; an audio version is available. The skills test has 3 or 4 randomly chosen tasks in 30 minutes; you must do every critical step and 80% of the other steps on each task. Fees: knowledge $75, audio knowledge $75, skills $90. You get 3 attempts to pass each part within 1 year of finishing training; after 3 failures you must retrain. You only retake (and pay for) the part you failed.
What it costs in Nevada
Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.
- $50
- $75
- $90
- $40
- $
- $
Cost details from the state
- Headmaster exam fees (Nevada handbook effective July 1, 2026): knowledge $75 (audio version $75), skills $90; $165 for both. Retakes cost the same per part.
- Fingerprints: if you mail an FD-258 card, the Board charges a $40 processing fee. If you use electronic live scan in Nevada, you pay the fingerprint vendor; the Board does not state that amount.
- Training tuition varies by program; the Board does not set it. Federal rule: if a nursing home employs you or has offered you a job when you start training, you cannot be charged for the training or its books.
Pay in Nevada
Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in Nevada after taxes.
Starting out on an entry-level wage? Check the SNAP income limits in Nevada by household size.
How long it takes
The Board says applications and documents are processed in about one week, but it can take up to four months to receive DPS and FBI fingerprint results, and the permanent certificate waits for both.
What other sites get wrong about Nevada
Myth: The Nevada Board currently directs CNA candidates to Credentia for exam registration and scheduling.
Fact: The Board now tells candidates to schedule the CNA exam with its new vendor, D&SDT-Headmaster, whose Nevada handbook took effect July 1, 2026. source
Myth: Nevada's written exam has 70 multiple-choice items, of which 60 are scored.
Fact: Headmaster's Nevada knowledge exam (handbook effective July 1, 2026) has 75 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes, and you need 80% to pass. source
Staying on the registry
Renewal: Renew every two years through the Nevada Nurse Portal, within 60 days before your expiration date. The renewal fee is $50. You need 24 hours of continuing education and at least 40 hours of work as a CNA in the previous two years. If you have not worked as a CNA in two years, you must retake a full training program or retake and pass the exams. The Board does not send expiration reminders.
Online options: The Board does not state that any part of training may be taken online. Headmaster offers a remotely proctored knowledge exam you can take from home; the skills test is in person.
Good to know in Nevada
Transferring from another state: Apply for CNA by Endorsement in the Nevada Nurse Portal ($50). You need an active out-of-state certificate, proof of OBRA training, proof of CNA work in a licensed medical facility within the past two years (or training completed within the past year), and Nevada fingerprints. You may get a one-time six-month temporary certificate.
Fingerprint results can take months: The Board warns it can take up to four months to receive DPS and FBI fingerprint results, and it will not issue a permanent certificate until both arrive. Fingerprints done for an employer or another board cannot be reused.
Other routes to the exam: Nursing students, people trained out of state, people who completed a program that later closed, and lapsed CNAs can apply to the Board for approval to test (waivers E2 to E5) through nv.tmutest.com.
When your certificate expires: Under NAC 632.192(5), your first certificate is valid until your second birthday after it is issued; after that it expires every two years on your birthday.
Military and veteran fee discount: Active U.S. military members, veterans, and their spouses or surviving spouses qualify for a 50% reduced application fee if they submit a copy of a military ID or other documentation with the application.
Recent Board fingerprints: If you completed fingerprints for the Nevada State Board of Nursing within the previous six months, you do not need to submit them again with your CNA by Examination application.
Sources
- Nevada State Board of Nursing - CNA Application Requirements for Examination (rev. 11/2023)
- Nevada State Board of Nursing - Education Programs (CNA testing vendor notice)
- Nevada State Board of Nursing - Nursing Assistant Training Program FAQs
- Nevada State Board of Nursing - CNA Renewal FAQ
- Nevada State Board of Nursing - CNA Application Requirements for Endorsement (rev. 9/2026)
- Nevada State Board of Nursing - Fingerprint Submission Form and Instructions
- D&SDT-Headmaster - Nevada Nurse Aide Testing (linked from NSBN)
- D&SDT-Headmaster - Nevada Candidate Handbook effective July 1, 2026
- Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 632 (NAC 632.193 renewal)
- Nevada State Board of Nursing - Fee schedule (PDF)
Other states
AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Nevada State Board of Nursing (NSBN) before you apply.