How to Become a Notary Public in Alabama
Checked against Judge of Probate of your county (records kept by the Alabama Secretary of State) ·
- Exam
- Not required
- Training
- Required
- Term
- 4 years
- State fee
- $10 application fee plus $25 commission fee, both paid to the probate judge
- Bond
- $50,000 bond with sureties from an Alabama-licensed producer, approved by and recorded with the county probate judge.
- Commissioned by
- Judge of Probate of your county (records kept by the Alabama Secretary of State)
Who can apply
- You must live in Alabama.
- You must apply to the probate judge of the county where you live.
- You cannot have a felony conviction or a conviction for a crime of moral turpitude.
- You cannot be a debtor in a current bankruptcy case.
- You cannot be under a current court order finding you incapacitated.
- You must give true information on the application.
- You must complete the required training within 30 days of applying.
Step by step
- Find the probate judge's office for your county.
- Submit your application and pay the $10 application fee.
- Complete the pre-commission training program within 30 days of applying.
- Buy a $50,000 bond from an Alabama-licensed bond producer.
- File and record the bond with the probate judge, who must approve it.
- Pay the $25 commission fee when the commission is issued.
Training and exam
Training: Pre-commission training program prepared by the Alabama Probate Judges Association and the Alabama Law Institute, required for new and renewal applicants since September 1, 2023. Attorneys are exempt. Hours and cost are not stated.
What it costs in Alabama
Fixed amounts are set by the state. Items marked “your quote” are priced by private sellers, so enter what you’re quoted.
- $10
- $
- $
- $25
- $
- $
Cost details from the state
- Bond premium
- Training program cost, if any (not stated)
- Notary seal and supplies
Pay in Alabama
Before you compare job offers, see what a paycheck takes home in Alabama after taxes.
What other sites get wrong about Alabama
Myth: Alabama has no state training requirement for notaries.
Fact: Since September 1, 2023, new and renewal applicants must complete the training program prepared by the Alabama Probate Judges Association and the Alabama Law Institute within 30 days of applying; attorneys are exempt (Act 2023-548). source
Myth: An Alabama notary needs a $25,000 surety bond.
Fact: Act 2023-548 raised the required bond to $50,000, approved by and recorded with the county probate judge. source
Myth: Alabama notaries may charge $5 per notarial act.
Fact: The cap is now $10 per notarial act (Code of Ala. 36-20-74, as amended by Act 2023-548). source
After you're commissioned
Renewal: Renewal applicants must also complete the training program; other renewal steps are set by your county probate judge.
Remote online notarization: Alabama law lets a notary physically in Alabama take an acknowledgment from a remote signer over recorded two-way audio-video, with the recording kept for seven years; absentee ballot applications and ballots are excluded.
Good to know in Alabama
Fee limit: A notary may charge no more than $10 per notarial act (Code of Ala. 36-20-74, as amended by Act 2023-548).
Renewal cost: There is no separate renewal fee: each commission, including a renewal, carries the $10 application fee and the $25 commission fee paid to the probate judge (Code of Ala. 36-20-70, as amended by Act 2023-548), plus the county's recording and bond-approval fees and a new $50,000 bond. Renewal applicants must also complete the training program.
Sources
Other states
AlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
General information, not legal advice. Fees and rules change — confirm with Judge of Probate of your county (records kept by the Alabama Secretary of State) before you apply.